Sweet Potato Fries

Posted on

We have a small sweet potato obsession around here.  I usually eat them with at least four meals a week and am always looking for something new and creative to do with them.  My standby favorite is to make sweet potato fries.

I know everyone has their own method for these, but I’m going to share mine.  I like mine thicker-more of steak fries because the thinner they are, the easier they burn.  I may have set off the smoke alarm a few times while experimenting with cooking times…oops!  After cutting, I put them in a bowl and toss with olive oil and whatever seasonings I am using.

Here are a couple of ideas if you want something more than just salt: Chili-spiked sweet potato fries, baked curry sweet potato friespeanut butter crusted sweet potato fries, Ina Garten’s baked sweet potato fries, and bacon wrapped sweet potato fries (future Bacon Friday?!).

Put on a cookie sheet and bake-I do mine at 425 for 28 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through.  But my oven isn’t very hot so I would start at about 20 and work up.  Bake until the fry comes off the pan easily and is lightly brown.

Finally, I am way too lazy to flip a panful of fries, so I cook the top by broiling (at 500) for 2-3 minutes.  These take a little bit of time to cook, but are really easy and so delicious!

2 responses »

  1. oh my word I’m starving now! I make these here in NZ, and serve with cold sour cream that has finely sliced scallions in it .. SO good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

