Spicy Sweet Potato Beef Soup

Posted on

I had other meal plans when I bought these ingredients, but then I got sick and decided I needed soup.  I was seriously annoyed that I managed to stay healthy all winter, but then got sick at the very end of April!  But I’m overworked, overtired and surrounded by people who don’t take very good care of themselves (med students).  A lot of sleep and this soup and I felt much better!

Spicy Sweet Potato Beef Soup

1 lb. ground beef
1/2 onion, chopped
5 cloves garlic, crushed
1/2 tsp. turmeric
1 tsp. cumin
1 tsp. paprika
1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped
1 green pepper, seeded and chopped
2 sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped
2 C. chicken broth
Avocado

Cook ground beef with onion and garlic for a few minutes until partially cooked.  Add seasoning and peppers and cook until beef is done.

Add beef mixture, sweet potatoes, and broth in a large pot.  Simmer on low about an hour.

Serve with avocado on top.

4 responses »

  1. Boo sickness! Bethany had the same thing happen to her, too! No sickness at ALL through the winter, and last week came down with a horrible cough/cold. I’ve been fortunate enough to not get sick (yet) but I kind of feel like my days are numbered. Especially because I’m spending all next week in Peds…

    Reply
    • Also, this looks delicious! I just inherited a HUGE crockpot from a friend moving to Baltimore, which means more soups/stews than I’m going to know what to do with! 🙂

      Reply
      • That’s awesome!! I am obsessed with my crockpot in the winter, I swear I would starve without it!! I basically just modify every recipe I make & toss it in the crockpot lol

  2. Pingback: How I Kicked a Cold in 48 Hours « Tacos on the Rooftop

Leave a Reply

