Bacon Friday: Baconnaise!

Posted on

It’s true.  I made mayonnaise with bacon fat.

And it’s awesome!

I had been craving egg salad since Easter, but you can’t have proper egg salad without mayonnaise. So I had a conundrum: make my egg salad with store-bought mayo (yuck!) or make my own.  After searching my cookbooks, recipe archives, and online forums, I decided to use bacon fat as the fat source.  Many recipes called for olive oil, but then a lot of comments said it leads to a bitter taste and overpowers the rest of the ingredients (which I think is actually true for most olive oil dishes, I’m not a huge fan.)  Bacon fat, however, was an unprocessed fat source I had readily available and isn’t associated with any flavor other than bacon.  YUM.

It was pretty intimidating, thinking about emulsifying fat with acid and egg yolk to make a tasty, creamy spread, but it turns out I had nothing to worry about.  This was SO EASY.  And did I mention delicious and bacon-y?

Bacon Fat Mayonnaise: adapted from the NYT

  • 1 egg yolk
  • 3/4 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp fresh-squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • S+P to taste
  • 1/2 c bacon fat, liquid but not hot!

In a small bowl, combine all ingredients except for the bacon fat and whisk together really well.  Pour into a food processor or blender, and turn it on.  Very slowly start to pour in the bacon fat, over the course of a couple minutes.  As the fat cools, the mixture will start to thicken – just keep it mixing!  My bacon fat was too hot when I added it, so I would occasionally pull the whole lid off and let it cool for a few minutes, then start to mix again.  It thickened up quite well, you just have to be patient!

And voila – you have baconnaise!  And yes, I made egg salad, and yes there was also bacon in that – what else was I going to do with all the bacon I fried up to get 1/2 c of bacon fat?

Happy Friday! Go eat some bacon!
One response »

  1. Yum, this sounds awesome! Maybe if my life ever goes back to normal I will have time to make it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

